Chemo work for CIDP?

I've been living with CIDP for 22+ years. My dr. has tried the other conventional treatments for my CIDP over the years and I've been doing well until about 6 months ago. We've gotten aggressive with the IVIG's (every other week for 3 months, and now every week for the last 3 weeks with 500 mg steroids). The next step is chemo. What kind of experiences have others out there had with chemo? My dr. is talking a month of heavy-dose. Waiting your responses - thank you in advance!

Kitcatrenee,

I have no experiences with chemo, I hear it’s a last line drug that the use when things get bad and nothing else is working. I am sorry I am not much help but you may want to go here and ask "http://www.gbs-cidp.org/forums/". There is a Stem cell trail I hear about "http://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT00278629" Maybe you can talk to your doctor about it if things keep getting worse.

I have only had CIDP for a year now and I would really like to ask you some question since you have had it so long. I do IVIG my 3 time on 11-14 and 15 and 15mg of steroids. Even with the IVIG I have what I would call good days and bad days Is this normal or should IVIG take care of all my problems? And if you have been on steroids for 22 years how has that effected you ?

Kitcatrenee,

I did chemo-Methotrexate for 3 months. I took 3 tablets 1 day a week, it did nothing for me. I ended up with Barrett's Esophagas (spl?) out of it. I can have nothing else done now, my neuro has exhausted every means of treatment for me except for stem-cell and plasmapherisis, which I dont know if I want to go those routes or not.

I wish you all the best.

~Blessings, Char