CMT Awareness

Hello,

I am a 3rd year podiatry student in Ireland and as part of my studies I have to present a poster on a condition we have come across in clinic. I have decided to do CMT as I came across a teenager with suspect CMT that we referred on. I was surprised as to how little was known about CMT especially among health professionals.

The poster I am doing is basic enough with straightforward information on CMT, diagnoses and what helps people living with CMT. What I want to get across is early signs of CMT and raise awareness, and that patients are referred correctly as soon as possible.

The poster will be presented to a consultant and to my classmates at the end of January and possibly at conferences (if it is good enough).

I welcome any input on this in particular early and accurate diagnoses and the importance of this.

Many thanks for your time and I and very pleased to of found this website.

Best wishes,

John

One thing l have read about is the flattening of feet as a precursor to the high arches. My daughter is developing this and having severe foot pain. We do not know if she has it or not. Would be curious to see how much this plays into an early diagnosis.

~Tami